Screen Archives Entertainment Screen Archives Entertainment    
   Home  Shipping Rates  Order Info  Contact Us  Links  Change Style
  search tips
   [log in]   [new customer?]  [join mailing list]

Site Security
provided by
Wildcard SSL Certificates

Our Price: $23.95
Bookmark and Share
Number: OOPGDM4219DLX

Composed by: Ennio Morricone

Sample Tracks
Name Number
Queimada prima 02
Josè Dolores 07
Josè Dolores (# 2) 09
Verso il futuro (# 3) 17
Play All Tracks


QUEIMADA (aka BURN) is a dramatic film of 1969 directed by Gillo Pontecorvo and starring Marlon Brando, Renato Salvatori, Evaristo Marquez, Giampiero Albertini, Dana Ghia, Cicely Browne. This film wants to be a political critique of all forms of colonialism. Filmed almost entirely in Cartagena, Colombia, during the shooting the director clashed on several occasions with Marlon Brando about the portrayal of the main character, who was hired together with many totally illiterate natives, and most of whom did not even know what cinema was. When the production, searching for local actors chose Evaristo Márquez and tried to approach him to give him the role of the antagonist, he run away, afraid perhaps of being attacked or nything else: the chase took an hour to make him understand the peaceful intentions of the director, and also to convince him to work in the film. Queimada is an imaginary island of the archipelago of the Antilles, subject to political and economic domination of the Portugal for centuries. The British crown, interested in expanding their businesses in the area, supported the cause of independence of the island rich bourgeoisie and sends Sir William Walker (Brando), a British agent under diplomatic cover in charge of fomenting local bourgeois revolution. He is a pragmatic man, intelligent, and able to engage in the revolution even black slaves of the island, using the leadership of a very charismatic man among the dispossessed of Queimada, José Dolores (Marquez), as the one Walker is committed to indoctrinate ideologically. The bourgeois revolution is successful and the island will be ruled by the weak and incapable bourgeois government of Teddy Sanchez (Salvatori). When the young revolutionary Dolores will once again inflame his people to seek economic independence from England and equality of all, it will be still Walker, disappointed, the person in charge to stop this new uprising which will be tamed with the direct intervention of the guns and the British troops that burning the plantations of sugar cane shall make the rebels coming out the closet. Once again, the island will be burned as its name says in Portuguese Queimada. Ennio Morricone wrote one of his most important scores, born by an in-depth study of traditional Latin American music. The OST is based on the main theme ABOLIÇÃO, breezy motif for orchestra and choir, introduced by the liturgical organ and strengthened by the sound of drums in a powerful crescendo. The author considers it among his favourite compositions to the point of performing it often in his live concerts around the world. Ennio Morricone besides this charming main theme, wrote exciting music between sacred and profane with the frequent intervention of the Cantori Moderni di Alessandroni, mixing occasionally Classical to Pop, alternating tonal passages to experimental atmospheres. This new edition was recorded directly from the master tapes in full stereo of the original session, properly restored, so that the sound is improved dramatically and the imperfections of the previous edition removed.

1. Abolicso 5:06
2. Queimada prima 1:28
3. Queimada (anche i Portoghesi muoiono) 1:19
4. Queimada (pezzo classico # 1) 0:44
5. Queimada (Libertà) 1:42
6. Verso il futuro 4:36
7. Josè Dolores 1:27
8. Queimada (la civiltà dei bianchi) 2:22
9. Josè Dolores (# 2) 0:43
10. Queimada (una nuove nazione) 0:41
11. Verso il futuro (# 2) 0:58
12. Queimada seconda 4:03
13. Preparazione 1:45
14. Josè Dolores (generalissimo) 1:27
15. Queimada (pattuglia) 2:31
16. Osanna 4:18
17. Verso il futuro (# 3) 1:14
18. Queimada (canna da zucchero) 1:11
19. Verso il futuro (# 4) 1:59
20. Queimada (William e Josè) 1:45
21. Josè Dolores (# 3) 1:27
22. Verso il futuro (# 5) 1:58
23. Queimada (pezzo classico # 2) 0:48
24. Studi per un finale 3:26
25. Preparazione (# 2) 3:15
26. Queimada (marcia) 1:11
27. Verso il futuro (# 6) 1:56
28. Queimada seconda (# 2) 0:42
29. Queimada (William e Josè # 2) 1:13
30. Verso il futuro (# 7) 4:53
31. Studi per un finale (# 2) 1:55

Total Time 65:03

Reviews and Comments: (0)
All times US Eastern   |   login to post your own review or comments.
There are no reviews or comments yet. Log in or register to post your own reviews or comments.
  Your cart is empty.
© 2018 Screen Archives Entertainment