Screen Archives Entertainment Screen Archives Entertainment    
   Home  Shipping Rates  Order Info  Contact Us  Links  Change Style
  search tips
   [log in]   [new customer?]  [join mailing list]

Site Security
provided by
Wildcard SSL Certificates

Our Price: $16.95
Bookmark and Share
Number: NAXTOCC0160

Composed by: Erich Wolfgang Korngold

Korngold’s incidental music for Shakespeare’s comedy Much Ado about Nothing, premiered in Vienna in 1920, enjoyed instant success and soon spread round the world in a series of arrangements that are still performed today. But the music has not been heard as Korngold intended since that first production. For this recording, made in conjunction with its fully staged US premiere, Korngold’s complete score was reconstructed from the original Viennese materials and is played here by the chamber-orchestral forces for which it was written.

University of North Carolina School of the Arts Drama Soloists and Symphony Orchestra conducted by John Mauceri.

1 Ouvertüre 5:02
2 Kriegsmusik (War Music) 0:24
3 Don Juan (Don John) – Act I, scene 2 0:24
4 Mummenschanz (Hornpipe) – Prelude to Act II 2:22
5 Festmusik (Festive Music) – Act II, scene 1, with dialogue 5:16
6 [Change of Scene] 0:24
7 Don Juan – Dialogue between Don John and Borachio 0:24
8 Gartenmusik (Garden Music) – Prelude to Act III, with Benedick’s soliloquy 6:36
9 Lied des Balthasar (Balthasar’s Song) 2:46
10 Intermezzo – with Beatrice’s soliloquy 2:57
11 Holzapfel und Schlehwein (Marsch der Wache) (Dogberry and Verges (March of the Watch)) 2:35
12 Mädchen im Brautgemach (Maiden in the Bridal Chamber) – Prelude to Act IV 3:43
13 Kirchenszene (Church Scene) – Act IV, scene 2, with Leonato’s line 0:52
14 Gerichtszene (Judgement Scene) 1:29
15 Trauermusik (Funeral Music) – Prelude to Act V, with Claudio’s monologue 4:50
16 [Change of Scene] – with Don Pedro’s line 0:45
17 Intermezzo – final wedding scene, with dialogue 3:20
18 Schlusstanz (Final Dance) – with Benedick’s final line 2:42
19 Festmusik (Festive Music) 4:38
20 Gartenmusik (Garden Music) 6:36
21 Intermezzo 2:43
22 Trauermusik (Funeral Music) 4:50
23 Schlusstanz (Final Dance) 2:29

Reviews and Comments: (0)
All times US Eastern   |   login to post your own review or comments.
There are no reviews or comments yet. Log in or register to post your own reviews or comments.
  Your cart is empty.
© 2018 Screen Archives Entertainment